Operating while under the influence (OWI) is a serious offense in Wisconsin. In an effort to keep the roads safe, law enforcement comes down hard on people driving under the influence. If you are facing OWI charges, you need the help of an experienced defense attorney.Charged with a crime in Wisconsin? Please call (888) 828-6041.
Almost anyone can be mistakenly arrested for drunk driving OWI. Police are extremely cautious about suspected drunk driving, and will often arrest people who had one or two drinks, but aren’t legally under the influence.
It is surprisingly easy to get arrested for this charge. And many people don’t have the agility to pass roadside field sobriety tests at all, yet because you have bad knees or a hundred other conditions, and can’t balance on one foot, you can find yourself arrested, booked, and put in a cell.
If you are charged, and don’t think it is fair, then we need to fight. Please contact me and I’ll got over you case to discuss how we can try to beat these charges in court.
Or maybe you made an honest mistake or exercised bad judgment. You may have been driving home after a holiday party or a summer barbecue. Chances are you had no idea you were legally intoxicated and probably felt like you were “okay” to drive. Unfortunately, if you are now charged with OWI, the law disagreed with you.
We know that mistakes happened and you probably regret getting behind the wheel. You need someone on your team that is going to work to ensure your rights are protected and you get the most positive outcome possible in court. We can do that.
We have years of experience working on OWI cases. We know that every case is different and are interested in learning about the specifics of yours. Call today to tell us about your OWI charge and to see how we can help.
Wisconsin OWI Laws
The legal limit for 1st time offenders is .08%. A police officer does not have to witness you driving in order for you to be charged with OWI. If you get into your vehicle and start it, this is enough for the charges to stick.
If this is your first OWI, you are at a slight advantage. Although Wisconsin laws are tough on OWI offenders, first time offenders get off slightly easier.
Wisconsin OWI Penalties
In most cases, your first OWI charge is a simple forfeiture. This means that you may pay a fine of $150-$300 and an OWI charge of $355.
OWI License Revocation
Although your license may be revoked for 6-9 months on your first OWI, you are immediately eligible for an occupational license. An occupational license limits where and when you can drive.
You will be required to have an alcohol assessment to help determine if you have a drinking problem.
Ref: Wisconsin Statute 346.63
Get an OWI Legal Defense Consultation from an Experienced Wisconsin Drunk Driving Defense Attorney
Facing your first criminal charges is frightening and confusing. In order for you to get the best possible result on your day in court, you should put your trust in the best. Call me for a consultation on your Wisconsin OWI case today.