Facing marijuana charges in Wisconsin can be just as frightening as any other controlled substances. Depending on the charge and the amount you were caught with the penalty could be just as harsh. I know what you are going through and want to help.Charged with a crime in Wisconsin? Please call (888) 828-6041.
Although marijuana charges are pretty common, they are still considered criminal in Wisconsin. This means you could be facing a prison term and a permanent mark on your record depending on the circumstances of your case.
If you’ve never had to face a criminal charge in Wisconsin courts, you are probably unsure of what to do and what to expect. I can help.
I have handled numerous marijuana cases and know exactly what you are up against, and what it takes to beat this charge. Whether you were caught with a small personal stash or are being charged with distribution, I can represent your interests in court. I want you to have the best possible outcome and will do my best to see that happen.
Contact me to talk about your case today. I’ll give you the benefit of my experience fighting marijuana possession charges, and we’ll figure out what you can do to fight and win.
Wisconsin Possession of Marijuana – Laws & Penalties
If you have never had any drug charge or criminal legal problem, there are usually good opportunities to work out a reasonable deal. Rather than having to serve anytime in jail, you may be entitled to a conditional discharge. This simply means that you will serve probation prior to trial. If you are successful on this probationary term, the charges will be dropped.
If, however, this is not your first offense or you are not eligible for the conditional discharge, you may serve time in jail. Unlike most states, if you are charged with simple possession it doesn’t matter how much you had on you at the time.
|First offense||Misdemeanor, up to 6 months in jail and $1,000 fine.|
|Second offense||Felony, up to 3 ½ years in prison and $10,000 in fines.|
Wisconsin Marijuana Possession with Intent/ Delivery/ Manufacturing – Laws & Penalties
If you are charged with one of these more serious marijuana offenses, it does matter how much of the drug you had.
|Less than 200 grams||Up to 3 ½ years in prison and $10,000 in fines|
|200 grams- 1,000 grams||Up to 6 years in prison and $10,000 in fines|
|1,000 grams- 2,500 grams||Up to 10 years in prison and $25,000 in fines|
|2,500 grams- 10,000 grams||Up to 12 ½ years in prison and $25,000 in fines|
|10,000 grams or more||Up to 15 years in prison and $25,000 in fines|
Possession of Paraphernalia – Laws & Penalties
If you are charged with being in possession of drug paraphernalia, you could be facing additional time in jail. Typical paraphernalia found in pot possession busts includes pipes and bongs. Possession of drug paraphernalia is punishable by 30 days in jail and a fine of $500.
Ref: Wisconsin Statute 961
Marijuana Bust? Don’t Panic! Call Me For a Legal Consultation.
Whether this is your first exposure to the Wisconsin criminal court system or not, you are likely nervous about the potential outcome in court. Being called to appear and defend yourself on drug charges is a serious thing to deal with. But I can be there to help ensure the best possible results. I know how these cases work, and I know what it takes to beat them. Call me for a consultation today.