Leaving the scene of an auto accident in Wisconsin (Hit and Run) is a criminal offense. You may not be aware that you are at risk of jail time for this offense if you are convicted of leaving the scene involving injury.Charged with a crime in Wisconsin? Please call (888) 828-6041.
I have handled multiple criminal charges like hit and run in Wisconsin and know what you are up against. I know how stressful this time can be and want to be the attorney to walk you through it. Together we can work towards the best possible outcome.
When an accident happens, you might panic, and it could cause you to make a poor decisions. Or maybe you left the scene not understanding extent of your legal responsibilty. Perhaps you made a split second decision and now regret it.
There is also a real chance of a mistaken charge here. You may not have done anything wrong, but it won’t go away by itself.
I know how scary these kinds of charges are and want to help you. Call me to discuss your hit and run case today and we can talk about what you can expect when you hire a skilled and experienced attorney like myself.
Wisconsin Auto Accident – Duty to Stop – Hit and Run Laws
If you are involved in an accident it is your legal duty to stop. Wisconsin law dictates that you must stop your vehicle immediately following any auto accident, even if it only results in property damage. Once stopped you must fulfill the following requirements:
- Give your names, address, and registration number to the other driver or occupant of the other vehicle,
- If requested, show your driver’s license to the other driver, and
- If the other driver or occupant is injured, provide reasonable assistance by calling an ambulance, or taking the person to a hospital or physician.
If you fail to follow your legal duties, you could be charged with hit and run. The charge you will face depends on the extent of the auto accident.
If the accident did not involve any injury you will likely be charged with a misdemeanor and face $300 to $1,000 in fines as well as up to 6 months in jail.
If the accident resulted in injury but not “great bodily harm”, your charge will be a Class A misdemeanor and you will face a potential sentence of up to 9 months in jail and fines reaching up to $10,000.
If someone in the accident was injured and suffered “great bodily harm”, your charge will be a Class E felony. This felony charge carries a potential sentence of 15 years in prison and fines reaching $50,000.
Although rare, if your accident resulted in someone’s death, you will face Class D felony charges and a potential penalty of 25 years in prison and fines up to $100,000.
Ref: Wisconsin Statute 346.67
Involved in a Hit and Run? Free Consultation on This Criminal Charge in Wisconsin
If you made a mistake, or if someone else made a mistake in accusing you of a hit and run in Wisconsin, you need serious legal help to fix this problem. The risk of prison time is not something to be taken lightly. When you are facing charges as serious as this, you need an experienced attorney on your side. Contact me to discuss the details of your case today.
I’ll tell you exactly what you are facing, and what I can do to help.